Backcountry camping necessities

8:38 p.m. on October 3, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I'm a freshman at the University of Central Florida and a few friends and i are planning on taking a backcountry camping road trip in early November to Tennessee. We plan on camping for four days and I have no idea about what to bring. Gear wise, the university is supplying us with quality equipment. But besides a tent, stove, sleeping bag and pad, and a cooler, we will need more to be comfortable. I just don't know what exactly. So, ANY backcountry camping tips regarding food, places to go, etc. would greatly be appreciated. Thanks. 

9:04 p.m. on October 3, 2011 (EDT)
225 reviewer rep
1,200 forum posts

Car camping or backpacking?

10:55 p.m. on October 5, 2011 (EDT)
255 reviewer rep
1,469 forum posts

If car camping, fill up that trunk.

11:06 p.m. on October 5, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Hey stevierez , welcome to Trailspace.

I have the same question as others here. What type of camping are you getting into(are you in 1 spot for 4 days, covering distance, etc?) This will have great bearing on what type of gear you will need for your trip.

There are many very knowledgeable members here at Trailspace that will be more than happy to help ya get dialed in. If possible as mentioned above please give us a better idea of what you are getting into.

Once again welcome to the Trailspace community, I hope you find the knowledge here helpful.

Happy hiking- Rick

2:10 p.m. on October 6, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Backpacking

2:36 p.m. on October 6, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts

Welcome to Trailspace stevierez__ ,