Commuting with a bike

8:31 a.m. on October 8, 2011 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
133 forum posts

I've been throwing around the idea of using a bike for a good portion of my commuting to work and school.  I live in Michigan and have a mountain bike that I use for out on the trail, but I'm curious to see if there would be a type of bike that is better suited for commuting.  I look forward to getting some advice. Txs.

9:44 a.m. on October 8, 2011 (EDT)
314 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts

I picked up one at a secondhand store, $10. Had it worked on, 6 pack. Bought fenders and lights, $25. I've been riding it now for 2 years back and forth to work. I see big guys riding around on those small one spead stunt bikes all the time. Looks uncomfortable. My bike is a 10 speed. Ive added a larger seat to it. I sit up-right in comfort. If you are going to ride a bake for commuting, it should be comfort ease, and speed that you are looking for.

10:11 a.m. on October 8, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts

Errrr ...   CoyotePacker --

You might wanna post this in the Off-Topic Forum.

Not much relevance to "Backcountry".

~ r2 ~

11:08 a.m. on October 8, 2011 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,280 forum posts

I used to commute on a Cannondale 12 speed road cycle twelve miles one way.  Good steed, kinda pricey.  Got a work out, got sweaty too.  Workplace had showers:)

Ed 

2:13 p.m. on October 8, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,236 forum posts

@ CoyotePacker: