Getting motivated again

11:58 p.m. on March 1, 2012 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
262 forum posts

I lost my Yellow Lab X, Pooch, about 9 years ago now, my bping buddy.  I got along fine for a few years, but then started wondering why bp trips were losing some of their appeal to me, especially in the Fall when the days are so much shorter and temps cool down quickly after 3:30 or so and there is next to no one if anyone around to chat with, even for a minute.  Finally hit me after Pooch had been gone for a few years, that I was truely alone out there, no one for miles if that close. (Talking about the Mt Whitney, Ansel Adams Wilderness areas).  So I had been telling myself for a few years now, are you still into this stuff?  Small group trips were still interesting, but I found myself doing mostly solo trips, either for two nights or 5-8 days on vacations depending on the season and distance traveled.  I started collecting old bping and camping stoves two years ago and have really gotten into it for some reason.  Anyway, this last Sept., right after the Labor Day weekend and returning from a Stovie meetup at Diamond Lake in Oregon, I figured I needed to get out more to use my collection, otherwise, they would hardly see any real use other than just being fired up in my garage now and then.  So now, with renewed interest in bping, I try to get out a few times a month or more, either leaving right from my yard or driving a short distance to start hiking or a car camping a few more times to use stoves more suited for that activity.  I live a quarter mile from Forest Service land.  I must say, I really look forward to my overnight trips again, no matter the weather, although I do prefer the heat of summer.  Unlike my vacations, I bring two stoves to use on my weekend trips, with so many, they would only get used once a year, depending on whether it was designed for tramping about or household use.

Duane

8:43 a.m. on March 2, 2012 (EST)
102 reviewer rep
2,280 forum posts