About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Backcountry Camping in Canada - Where to start?

2:04 p.m. on June 22, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

Hello, I am brand new to backcountry camping, I have not been yet and unfortunately do not know where to start. I have tried looking up the "backcountry" parks in my area (British Columbia), but the places shown are just campgrounds minus the running water. Most charge you for parking, and all in all, I do not see this as a true "backcountry" camping experience.

I have done a google search for forums about BC backcountry camping and have come up with nothing. Would anybody who may know of British Columbia or Canadian camping forums be able to point me in the right direction? Any help would be very appreciated!!

Thank you!

12:09 a.m. on June 24, 2013 (EDT)
21 reviewer rep
1,011 forum posts

Chose a mountain range.  Then find some good maps that show trailhead access.  That would be a start, or a trail guide.

11:01 a.m. on June 24, 2013 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
405 reviewer rep
814 forum posts

Kevin, 

There are a number of Provincial and National Parks to get your feet wet. A great resource is Backroad Mapbooks, which is published with different areas(Cariboo, Kootenay, etc.) Manning Park in the south is a good place, Tweedsmuir is high on the list too. Garibaldi is popular. There are also a number of areas on Vancouver Island that often get overlooked.

If you are looked for experience outside parks, again the Backroad Mapbooks are helpful. Another good resource are the local outfitters/outdoor shops. The Spatsizi Wilderness, though a designated wilderness, has large areas that are not at all protected. I have paddled and hiked there and seen osborne's caribou, wolverine and grizzly.

11:07 a.m. on June 24, 2013 (EDT)
210 reviewer rep
173 forum posts