Eureka Zeus2 EXO

4:52 a.m. on August 5, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. Scott K

Finally, a sub $200 tent($140), that acts like a 300 dollar tent and is comparitively lighter then most of those. Sure it may have a single wall construction, but it doesn't perform like one. I hiked the Tahoe-Yosemite Trail and it performed flawlessly. I will be giving eureka a much harder look in the future while considering other products. The ease of set up and performance ranks well above my expectations. Oh, if you need some background on me to believe this review here it goes. I worked several years in outdoor recreation stores, was a ski shop manager, and a Yosemite Backcountry Ranger for a winter (nordic patrol). Now, believe it or not, I am a baker.

10:58 a.m. on August 5, 2002 (EDT)
30 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts
Thanks for the report! I'm still debating to get one of these or not.......

did you have to do any seam sealing prior to use or is it pretty much ready to go right out of the box? Does it come with steel or aluminum stakes?

12:18 p.m. on August 5, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

Eureka Zeus I & II

Quote:

did you have to do any seam sealing prior to use or is it pretty much ready to go right out of the box? Does it come with steel or aluminum stakes?

The Zeus II comes with 8 aluminum stakes and a decent size container of seam sealer. But it is factory sealed. I haven't needed to seam seal it yet, but I haven't been in any realy heavy rain with mine yet. The joys of camping in Southern California. (I've heard they do pretty well in rain thou)

From everything I've read, most owners love them. (myself included) I've yet to read one solidly bad review. As good tents go, the poundage is low, the price is pretty cheap. And if it turns out that your one of the few that doesn't like it you can always exchange it for a half-dome or something and just deal with the extra weight.