Trail Fitness thoughts

8:54 a.m. on March 7, 2003 (EST)
(Guest)

Having just had my 50th birthday, I find it ever increasing to keep in shape for mountain hiking. Not being a runner, the snow/ice tend to reduce my daily walking mileage and keeps me away from the hills in the state parks. I find my weight climbing and ambition falling as the winter progresses. Yes, I ski and make it to the gym some (albeit not enough), but I feel like I

9:25 a.m. on March 7, 2003 (EST)
(Guest)

Hi, I'm 56 years young and still have the desire to continue backpacking. I still can keep up with my buddies, even the young one's. I walk 4 to 5 miles per day five days a week. I have been fighting my weight for the past 15 years. I figure I will be backpacking into my 70's if I live that long. I am even more determined to hike since a bout with cancer 8 years ago. I do find that I hike with less weight in my pack and am always looking for ways to lighten my load, both in the pack and on my body. I try to eat right and above all, keep active. Good Luck my friend!

12:47 p.m. on March 7, 2003 (EST)
(Guest)

I'm with you Rich. I hope to backpack and hike well into my seventies too. I will be 58 in a few months and have to really discipline myself to stay in good shape. If I slack up I can really tell it even on a short day hike - huffing and puffing it up the hill (and it's hilly where I mostly hike). I try to hike often - say twice, three times a month at least, and it's great practice for upcoming mountain treks. Also eating healthy is now a priority. Vitamin supplements are important too.

1:08 p.m. on March 7, 2003 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,445 reviewer rep
5,392 forum posts
Good grief, Hikergirl!

Quote:

...I will be 58 in a few months ...