Seam sealing a tent

3:24 p.m. on October 20, 2003 (EDT)
(Guest)

I just got a tent that needs to be seam sealed according to the instructions. Unfortunately, they do not describe the process of seam - sealing itself so I have to figure it out on my own (I am a clueless newbie eheh). I also got some McNett SeamGrip with the tent.

Anyone have any tips or pointers? Do I just squeeze the seamgrip out of the tube, apply it to the seam and use the supplied brush? sounds simple enough I guess but is there anything I should be aware of?

Thanks all!

3:59 p.m. on October 20, 2003 (EDT)
37 reviewer rep
747 forum posts

Quote:

I just got a tent that needs to be seam sealed according to the instructions. Unfortunately, they do not describe the process of seam - sealing itself so I have to figure it out on my own (I am a clueless newbie eheh). I also got some McNett SeamGrip with the tent.

Anyone have any tips or pointers? Do I just squeeze the seamgrip out of the tube, apply it to the seam and use the supplied brush? sounds simple enough I guess but is there anything I should be aware of?

I am assuming that this is a nylon tent and that the McNett product is "Seam Grip"? Seam grip is very slow drying (over night) unless you get some with the bottle of catalyst, which I STRONGLY ADVISE.
Set up the tent, mix a small amount of seam grip and catalyst and carefull paint on a stripe about 1/4 to 3/8" wide over the seams. It doesn't matter how thin the coating is as long as it covers. For every process there is a "best" way - so don't make it too thick. As it starts to harden mix up a new batch and continue on. I think alcohol will thin it on the brush if you catch it soon enough - it is a good idea to have some spare brushs.
If you use the catalyst the stuff will set up quickly, if you don't you may end up with glue everywhere.