Water Filtration?

5:57 p.m. on March 11, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
6 forum posts

I'm fairly new to backpacking and have gone on a few trips with friends that have had water purifiers. I've only used the pump filter but I'm trying to cut back on cost and I know a decsent one goes for around $70. Do the iodine tabs work well? I'm worried about taste. And also, what did people use before these filters? I mean, whats wrong with using a bandana to filter your water, granted its somewhat clean already?

6:29 p.m. on March 11, 2009 (EDT)
TRAILSPACE STAFF
715 reviewer rep
3,169 forum posts

Welcome to Trailspace, TJ.

To begin answering your questions, I recommend you first read Bill Straka's four-part Backcountry Water Treatment series in the Gear Guide:

http://www.trailspace.com/gear/guide/

Part 1 covers Proper Hydration — http://www.trailspace.com/gear/guide/backcountry-water-treatment-part-1-hydration.html — but later parts deal with treatment options and what might be in the water.

6:38 p.m. on March 11, 2009 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,622 reviewer rep
5,398 forum posts

TJ,

The short answer is that bandanas (and coffee filters and plain muslin) are far too coarse (the technical term is "pore size") to filter out any of the critters that can cause diseases. You need pore sizes in the micron size, where the bandana is some 20-50 times larger in the thread spacing. So giardia, and cryptosporidium will just pass through unimpeded (not to mention bacteria and viruses.

6:58 p.m. on March 11, 2009 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
649 forum posts

Welcome to Trailspace TJ

And now to add my 2 cent's

At the present day all those nasty bacteria, viruses & disease darn near run rapid in our water sources so they are needed.

10:18 a.m. on March 12, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,083 forum posts

I use different methods of water treatment depending upon the trip. For a solo trip I use idodine for drinking water and simply boil my cooking water.