About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Edges...

1:22 a.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,040 reviewer rep
1,011 forum posts

What you you find to be the best grind for a bushcraft knife? Zero grind, convex, and flat grinds immediately come to mind...

Who out there strops? Who has mastered the mouse-pad technique, and how quickly/effectively can a convex edge be put on a flat-ground blade made of VG-10 steel?

I imagine answers to the "best grind" question will probably vary with the local forest type, but unless you carry a sharpening device into the backcountry, shouldn't a more durable edge be the overall goal?

1:56 a.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
263 forum posts

Wow! I have been putting a razor edge on mine for about 40 years with a belt sander and have no idea what your terms mean.

6:22 a.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
1,684 reviewer rep
1,278 forum posts

If you are having to grind an edge onto your knives then something is wrong. You should be able to just as easily do it with a wetstone or similar. Grinding takes way too much steel off comparitivly speaking and is reducing the lifespan of the knife by a great deal with each occurance. To each their own though.

I only use a grinding wheel on axes that see heavy use.

9:21 a.m. on July 21, 2010 (EDT)
75 reviewer rep
306 forum posts

pillowthread:

I am not familiar with the zero grind...is there another name for that type of edge?