New backpacker

9:18 a.m. on April 11, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Im fairly new at this but it's my passion. I've been on some moderate trips. My main concern is everything but I'm buying my new gear now. Price is a minor concern. I'm looking for good three season set up. What is recommended?

9:22 a.m. on April 11, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

By the way I bought the marmot atom. I get pro deals on my stuff so I picked it up. Any comments on that bag will be nice.

9:58 a.m. on April 11, 2012 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
770 reviewer rep
1,257 forum posts

Weclome to Trailspace Buckeye Trekker!

More specific questions are easier to field for the members here. Geography and goals (at least) are necessary to provide any gear suggestions; you know: where are you going and what do you intend to do?

As I soon discovered when I became a member here, almost any question you can think of has already been asked and answered. I suggest you start with The 10 Essentials and progress from there in each subject area. As much as I don’t like to say things like this (like my Mom used to always tell me to “go look it up”) you would be well served to use the search feature in the upper right and read through previous posts. It can be arduous but quite rewarding as a ton of valuable knowledge has been dispensed on this forum over the years.

Anyway, you have come to the right place if you are passionate about backpacking!  

Patrick

2:15 p.m. on April 11, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
910 forum posts

Welcome to Trailspace!

As Patman said where will you be hiking most of the time and what the conditions (temps, winds, rain fall) will be are important to figuring out what gear you need.  Also the length of your treks, how many people/animals are going with you and how often are important too.