Intro to Geocaching

8:20 a.m. on June 7, 2012 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,601 reviewer rep
76 forum posts

I have started geocaching.  It's a great way to get out and see things.  My daughters and I have a lot of fun finding "Treasure".  I fits in nicely with my outdoor adventures too.  I can hunt for geocaches just about everywhere I'm already going.  I've found caches on kayak trips, fly fishing trips, camping trips, and trips to the local grocery.  If you have a GPS or a smart phone, then you should give it a try.

12:05 a.m. on June 9, 2012 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
573 reviewer rep
286 forum posts

Nice evangelism.  I've been caching for well over 11 years now.  Like you, it has worked it way into my routine.

I'd recommend you get a dedicated GPS ASAP.  The smart phone app is nice, but it's SO slow at updating. Plus, with a GPS and a Premeium Membership at geocaching.com, you can creat and download "pocket queries."  PQs are files you can create with all the data of up to 1,000 caches, then transfer that data directly to your GPS.  No more loading caches one at a time.  Plus, you get all the info on the cache, including the description, hint, and recent logs.  It'll change the way you geocache forever.

BTW, what's you geocaching user name?  I'm w9jim.

Cache on!

Jim

2:10 a.m. on June 9, 2012 (EDT)
38 reviewer rep
1,765 forum posts

I joined a geocaching site when I got my GPSr just to practice with it a bit around my neighborhood. There were a couple of caches within easy walking distance. The site is www.geocaching.com and it has about everything you'd want to know on it.

12:26 p.m. on June 9, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
82 forum posts

Like you guys, I like to incorporate geocaching into my outdoor routines. It just naturally ties into hiking, and I even bring my GPSr when I go backpacking to try and find some caches around camp.

I, too, suggest getting a dedicated GPSr rather than using a smart phone, if you're serious about it as a hobby.