Finnegan begin again

12:29 a.m. on June 16, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
30 forum posts

So, technically I'm not really a beginner, just getting back into the backcountry after much too long a hiatus...kids, career, all that jazz.  Before the kids and career there were plenty of adventures...hiking half the AT (Springer to Duncannon, PA), canoe camping in the Boundary Waters, a Grand Canyon hike, ski trips in Rocky Mountain and Teton National Parks.  Whenever we had the time and a few extra bucks (like after quitting yet another crappy restaurant job) my friends and I could be counted on to pack up and go.  And now I'm ready to go again, provided my body has weathered the intervening 30 years better than my old gear.  Honestly, that's been half the fun, getting myself re-outfitted (anyone interested in a "vintage" North Face Sierra tent?)...all that's left to do is head out my back door here in Fort Collins and get up in those mountains I stare at every day.  The Nike ads are right...just do it (or it will never happen).  Thought I would see if there were any last words of advice, you know, for we "mature" hikers, or if anyone would like to come along.

5:35 a.m. on June 16, 2012 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,295 forum posts

Yea, at your age ease back into it.  You might want to get a physical first, and make sure the intervening years of inactivity haven't plugged your coronary arteries or created another health condition could be an issue. 

Ed

10:07 a.m. on June 16, 2012 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
592 reviewer rep
1,518 forum posts

I am like you.....a big bunch of decades of butkis. But I sprung from the couch, geared up and headed to Everest Base Camp this year....it is not too late.....GO PLAY OUTSIDE!

10:08 a.m. on June 16, 2012 (EDT)
344 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts

If you need to rest, rest. You might have a goal in mine, but don't push to hard to accomplish it. There is allot to see and take in, and at our age that's what it is about.

BTW Nice looking tent.