newbie, gear and other advice

1:59 a.m. on July 15, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. mikec him, mikechmi

Hey Everyone,

I am completely new to backpacking and hiking and I'm just looking for some advice. I've car camped enough times to have no fears about that and I am also a first aid instructor. I just graduated college and am gonna travel around the US for a couple months to not only look at grad schools but also view the natural beauty that this country has to offer. I figure what better way then camping in the back country. I'm going to be doing everything solo and will be starting soon so I don't see me having the time to take a course or anything. As of now I have a GPS, safewater anywhere in-line filter 90oz hyrdro back, a hammock, hunting knife. I'm looking into back packs right now. I figure most or my trips will be 4 days or so, some more some less. I'd like to spend no more then $150 (did I mention I'm poor and that is a consideration for everything) and am leaning towards the kelty trekker, kelty coyote, Camp trails appollo or velocity, or Kelty Red Cloud 5400 or 5000. I'm also gonna pick up first aid kits, moleskin, etc. I have a coleman two burner stove but it is kind of heavy, anything cheap, light, and good out there? Sorry this is so long. Any other things I can do to prepare, I read trailsides Hiking & Backpacking book, and Walking, and ordered the SAS wilderness surivival guide (I realize books can't compare to the real thing). Also any advice on getting permits on national parks like the Grand Canyon, since It takes 3 months ahead of time and I really have no clue when my travels will take me there (I'm starting east coast and heading west). Anyway any advice, help, etc you can give would be great. If this was all discussed elsewhere feel free to attack me, thanks in advance and hope to see you out there

2:02 a.m. on July 15, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

ohh yeah