Beginner- camping in 115 degree desert heat!

4:43 p.m. on August 8, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

I'm new to camping, but my bf recently invited me to join his group in the desert camping. I recently realized that the temps are going to be a scorching 115! I know we'll be on the river, but are there any secrets to keeping the tent cool or staying cool myself? The lows are predicted to be 91 at night so I'm hoping for a good idea to keep us cool and help us to sleep.

Ideas we've had so far:

wear thin light clothing

misters? (hope these work)

fans?

water water water to hydrate ourselves

stay in the water!

Thanks!

5:26 p.m. on August 8, 2012 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,295 forum posts

Sounds like an ice cold beer therapy retreat. 

1. Get a seat cushion floatation device. a 12 pack cooler, a giant cooler, and a pizza. 
  2. Fill giant cooler with ice and beer.  Place pizza in there too.
  3. Transfer some beer and ice to 12 pack cooler. 
  4. Take 12 pack cooler into river, sit on flotation cushion, consume beer.
  5. Iterate steps 3 & 4 until sunset.
  6. Haul out, find reclining beach chair, consume cold pizza and remaining beer.
  7. Repeat these steps daily, until time to go home.

Beer beer beer until the mirages and reality are one and the same.

Or a pretty viable alternative idea:  Don't go!  You know what they say about the mid day sun, mad dogs and Englishmen...

Ed

5:31 p.m. on August 8, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Lol. I actually think that's their plan, but I don't drink beer or eat pizza- too many calories. But I like your floating idea. Any way to keep the tent cool enough to sleep?

And despite the weather, I already promised him and took off work, so I'm locked and loaded on this trip.

Thanks! I appreciate the advice!

5:32 p.m. on August 8, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
606 forum posts