About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Lower Half Gear

10:26 p.m. on January 28, 2013 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

So, I'm a newbie to backpacking and I've been reading quite a bit on gear.  I think I'm good on my top half (Gortex jacket with a wool baselayer).  But, on the bottom half I see almost no information...or I've not found it yet.

For a baselayer I'm thinking of wool again (Merino to be exact) and I've got some great convertable pants that I'm really liking a lot.  But, I'm a bit lost on the aspect of if it rains....again, the top half is covered. 

I've seen these cheap rain proof pants with zippers up both sides that look pretty good.  Thinking I don't need insulated pants (I'm not planning on being in the snow) like ski type pants but to be honest I'm not sure. 

Gortex pants would be the obvious choice but to be honest I don't want to shell out the cash for these types of pants.

So, looking for some suggestions on the bottom half. 

Thanks for the help!

4:51 a.m. on January 29, 2013 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
1,236 forum posts

Hey Seegrep,