Moving to Calgary

11:29 a.m. on September 16, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

I have been reading trailspace for a few days and just decided to sign up.

I am pretty new to the backpacking world.  In High School I would take one trip a year(mostly to the Smokies but once to Mt Rainier) but that was with borrowed gear and 12-15 years ago.  Over the past 12 years I have lived all over the country(California, Texas, Indiana) and outside the country(Bangkok, Angola) and haven't had much extra time for backpacking. 

I am now in the process of moving to Calgary for my wife's job and will have lots of time to do more things.  I am very interested in any gear and location info you all can give.  

I would like to take some 3-5 day hiking trips within a couple hours of Calgary.  Any recommendations????

I am still in the US for the next week or so but I have already started buying some gear when I find good deals.

my gear so far-

Pack- NorthFace Terra 65 Sleeping Bag- NorthFace Cats Meow Tent- Big Agnes Fly Creek UL2 Cook Stove- Jet Boil SOL Stove Sleeping Pad- Big Agnes Air Core insulated 48"

Please feel free to critique my gear as I can still return it if need be.

Thanks all!

2:20 p.m. on September 16, 2013 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
592 reviewer rep
1,461 forum posts

Peter1955 is a great Canada guy. Be he could help with all that! Welcome to TS!!!

3:19 p.m. on September 16, 2013 (EDT)
MODERATOR TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
5,414 reviewer rep
744 forum posts

Welcome to TS!!

Much of the gear you choose will depend on your style of camping. For example: Jetboil is a well-known name, but I prefer my alcohol stove for my style of cooking. Some people want a down sleeping bag; some prefer synthetic. There is no right/wrong answer, just preferences--and then quality of gear.