Sleeping Bag

8:41 a.m. on January 29, 2018 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hello everyone,

My son is a tiger scout and I'm his den leader. I have no experience with scouts and we plan on being in it for the long haul.  I wanted to know what you would recommend for a sleeping bag.  We are trying to stay around $50 range and max of $100.  We are in metro Atlanta and it was recommended that we should look at a 30-degree bag.  I would like to get a decent bags for the both of us that we can use throughout the next 10 or so years.  I also assume we will be doing some backpacking over the years, with the scouts.  

Thanks,

Ben

9:04 a.m. on January 29, 2018 (EST)
45 reviewer rep
261 forum posts

https://www.rei.com/product/845512/rei-co-op-kindercone-30-sleeping-bag-kids

The above bag might work for you,, at least in the short run.  Your son will out grow whatever you purchase now.  As he reaches his adult dimensions and interests, it would be time to spend serious money on a really good bag, if he should be so inclined.   REI isn't the only supplier of good bags, but they are a handy reference point.  Check their other offerings, as well.

The word on sleeping bags - light, warm, cheap - pick any two characteristics.  A good down bag is a very important item and a significant investment that, chosen wisely, will repay itself many times over in future outings.

11:03 a.m. on January 29, 2018 (EST)
TOP 25 REVIEWER
1,805 reviewer rep
254 forum posts

Hey Ben, also in the ATL...

Where and when will you and your son be camping? North Georgia mountains in the summer a 30F bag might be too warm. Travel elsewhere, and/or camp in spring and fall, then 30F is probably the most versatile option.