compasses

4:58 p.m. on November 23, 2009 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

59 year-old raw newbie here who just caught the day-hiking bug down in the Smokies this past summer. Question - how important is it to carry a compass for day hikes on well-marked trails (ex - AT and intersecting trails) if a good map/trail guide is taken along? It wouldn't seem that necessary, and I haven't to date, but most hiking manuals seem to recommend it. Are they assuming the more remote, poorly marked trails than I'm doing, or do safety issues demand it regardless?

5:12 p.m. on November 23, 2009 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
415 forum posts

Sooner or later you're gonna find yourself "flying on instruments," that is, with no visual references because of fog, rain, darkness, whatever. That's the only time you'll definitely need one, and the one time you won't want to be without it.

This Silva Starter is under $10 and weighs practically nothing; I have something similar. I almost never use it because I hike on the same kind of trails you do, but it's nice to have just in case.

If you get one, take some time to learn how to use it with a map and establish a bearing/heading.

7:49 p.m. on November 23, 2009 (EST)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
968 reviewer rep
3,470 forum posts

Welcome thinwirenail,

Tom is correct, stuff happens! It's just wise to carry maps and a compass, they weigh next to nothing and nothing works better when that's what you need.

Sure you're probably not gonna get lost on wide, well packed trails with blazes every hundred feet, but what better time to get in some experience using your map & compass, better now than wait until you get lost!

There are also several other items you should bring that you probably won't need either, but this is how we stay safe, or help others who left these things at home.

There is a list of items called 'The Ten Essentials' that have been a big help to many hikers and backpackers alike, here is a link to the list right here on Trailspace: