Basic Stuff

1:20 a.m. on January 28, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

Hello All,

I have been lurking around the site for a few days now, and just finally am going to ask what I need to know.

Situation:

My Uncle and I are planning on taking 9 days of vacation to head to Rocky Mountain National Park. I have been there twice already. The first time was for half of a day spent driving through, and the second was with a buddy of mine and we did manage to hit the trail for a day. I have grown up hunting around Wisconsin and spend ALOT of time outside. I do alot of day-hikes through our land and the surrounding public land, BUT I never really have spent a whole week hiking in the mountains. We are planning on staying in a hotel, so camping gear is out of the equation. I do want to get a GOOD pair of hiking boots and would like advice on what I should look at and what I should not bother with. I am leaning toward the Asolo FSN 95 GTX. I work in the Paper Industry, in Green Bay, and average about 8 miles every night, 5 days a week wearing steel toed work boots on concrete, so my feet are used and abused already so to speak. Also, if there are any other things (hydro backpack, med kit...) that you more experienced hikers think I should bring, your input is very much appreciated.

Thank You

1:56 a.m. on January 28, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
39 forum posts

First, I don't know enough about gear to give advice on specific things, I'll leave that to the more experienced ones here. However, I can give some advice on Colorado. Not sure how long you were here on your previous visits but we have a saying here, "If you don't like the weather, wait 5 minutes". It's true, I've seen it go from 70 and sunny to rain to snow in a matter of a few hours. Make sure you are well prepared for those kinds of changes when you head out on the trail. Just something to think about when deciding what to bring with. :)

7:47 a.m. on January 28, 2010 (EST)
225 reviewer rep
1,178 forum posts