Depressed over sock choices....

7:10 p.m. on June 5, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
41 forum posts

Hey everyone, I've been lurking the forums for a little while now and have found the answer to 90% of my questions by just searching the forums but I may start posting a bit to get that 10% taken care of ; ).

My background is as a tree planter in British Columbia, Canada. Lived in my tent for 3 months in the mountains. A pretty surreal experience. (Although I hope I am never that desperate for money every again as it was a brutal summer).

Annyway, these are the boots I bought:

http://www.mec.ca/Products/product_detail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442498751&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302733589&bmUID=1275778713823

They are very heavy, incredibly stiff/tough leather. I used them everyday on extremely rough terrain (a destroyed forest basically) and they worked great. The problem is that they are very hard on my feet. I need some very durable socks and I can't decide between SmartWool, Thorlo, and Patagonia. I need two pairs of ultra-heavtweight socks for when it's cold outside and then maybe 5 or 6 pairs of mid-weight for any other time. (I never wear lightweight because my feet will be destroyed if I do that. I wore cheap $5 wool socks from Walmart but had to also use about 12 bandaids on each foot to prevent blistering. Expensive and inconvenient...although very effective.)

So basically I need a padded, durable sock for my ultra tough leather boot. What should I do? I'm afraid to spend 20-30 bucks on socks just to wear a hole in them! Rather just stick with destroying cheap socks and using band aids!

8:38 p.m. on June 5, 2010 (EDT)
8 reviewer rep
28 forum posts

"Life is too short for uncomfortable boots!"

9:02 p.m. on June 5, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
41 forum posts

I know I'm wondering............*sigh*.....

9:07 p.m. on June 5, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
263 forum posts