About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

BACK PACK

7:17 p.m. on August 4, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

I am a beginner at Back Packing i know how to fit it load it basically. What i need to know is my wife and i are planning a 3 day trip to the Grand Canyon we are planning to do the Bright Angel Loop. This trip we are palnning for November temps there on the rim are supposed to be mid 60F. What would be the best pack size wise for this trip? Any tips on anything else about the trip i would be cool to.

7:41 p.m. on August 4, 2010 (EDT)
73 reviewer rep
301 forum posts

Welcome Mark!

Great question and a few more details will really help fill it out:

1) Are both you and your wife planning on carrying packs?

2) What size/style of gear are you hauling? Do you have a bunch of ultralight gear? 3lb tent? 5lb tent? 20* bag? 40* bag?

3) What is your anticipated load (lbs)? How about for your wife?

4) Have you tried on any packs? Fit is just as important as size. And, different sizes will determine your capacity, to some extent.

Folks around here can probably do a three-day trip on anywhere from 1500ci to... well... how fancy of a trip do you want? :) I'd haul a 3600ci pack and be quite happy with my food and accommodations. You need to determine the size of the gear you will be hauling, figure out if that will be an acceptable weight, and then decide on a pack size.

Of course, you could buy a certain size pack and then buy gear to fit into it... hmm... interesting strategy.

And, 60* in the day in November equals what at night? Pack for the coldest anticipated temps (heck, I'd even knock 10* off that), not the warmest or the average.

9:58 p.m. on August 6, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

Cleric,

Thanks for the tips :)