Introduction for Shawn

3:56 p.m. on February 9, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

I'm a member of another forum that requires its' members to post an introduction, so I'm posting one here, because it only seems right.

I'm in the United States Air Force, stationed at Lackland AFB, in San Antonio, TX.  I've been in for nearly 8 years and I've been stationed at Keesler AFB, MS - Ft. Meade, MD - Osan AB, S. Korea - Vandenberg AFB, CA - Lackland AFB, TX.  I also deployed to Camp Lemonier, Djibouti back in 2006.

I've always enjoyed camping and being outdoors, but with an extremely busy work schedule over the past few years, I haven't been able to get out very much here in Texas.  I've decided that I want to start hiking, though I've never done it before.  I've been doing tons of research from this site and a few others and I think I'm as ready as I will be without actually getting out there and doing it.

We've taken a few day-hikes at Government Canyon State National Area, but haven't hiked it with our packs yet.  Next month, we're planning on hiking and camping in Enchanted Rock State National Area.

I'm by no means a gear-head and I know the gear you take with you won't automatically make you an expert.  Regardless, I think I have made some good purchases in the right direction for a beginner:  Deuter Men's ACT Zero 60+10 Pack, Optimus Terra Cookset, Katadyn Hiker Pro Water Filter, Eureka! Copper River 30 (heavier than what I expected), Eureka! Solitaire, a PocketRocket stove, and some basic fire starting materials. 

I appreciate this site and I've learned a lot from reading gear reviews and through the forum.  I hope I can continue to learn from the veterans here and eventually post some of my own experiences.  Thanks!

4:11 p.m. on February 9, 2011 (EST)
87 reviewer rep
1,057 forum posts