About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Hello from TonyB

5:41 a.m. on February 18, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
52 forum posts

I have been reading and enjoying Trailspace for a few years and thought it about time to join and hopefully I can make some contributions.

I am 56yo male and I live in Canberra Australia, I have a machinist/engineering background and I am a senior technician in a research laboratory at a University. I have been bushwalking on and off for around 35 years, but most of my bushwalking has been in the last ten years. I usually do 2-3 day bushwalks/snowshoe/fly fishing trips with a freind in the alpine areas of Australia.

I consider myself a bit of a student of bushwalking/backpacking gear, I spend a lot of my spare time surfing the net looking and reading up about the latest gear and looking at the technical aspects of gear. I also like to do a bit of my own research and development, mainly into backpacking stoves, I have built myself some scientific type instruments to accurately measure stove performance and to try and understand stove design, I will talk more about my stove test instruments and test results in later posts.

I practice lightweight bushwalking and since I have reduced my gear weight, my enjoyment of bushwalking has gone up. Over the last few years I have built up enough gear that I can have several combinations of LW gear to suit conditions. Some of my gear collection listed below.

Packs:- Golite Ion, Golite Jam2 and Lightwave Ultrahike.

Tent:- Zpacks Hexamid, Mountain Designs Nutrino 1, Tarptent Contrail and yet to be used Moment.

Sleeping Bag:- Western Mountaineering Summerlite, BPL 180 quilt, Fairydown Superlite.

Sleeping mat:- MSR Neoair, MSR Prolite 4, MSR Prolite3

Rainwear:- Macpac Traverse eVENT jacket, Jet stream Reflex pants.