About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Food Dehydrator

8:25 p.m. on May 2, 2012 (EDT)
4 reviewer rep
106 forum posts

Anyone here has experience with food dehydrators? I was looking to buy one and get some information about different models but most info online is from years ago. I would like to know if there are any new models with great features such as a timer, good temperature control etc... that is also not mega expensive like those $250 ones.  I'm totally new to this so any input will be helpful =)

12:23 a.m. on May 3, 2012 (EDT)
245 reviewer rep
1,469 forum posts

buy dehydrated

6:17 a.m. on May 3, 2012 (EDT)
4 reviewer rep
106 forum posts

Expensive, limited selections, and portions, etc...

1:14 p.m. on May 3, 2012 (EDT)
245 reviewer rep
1,469 forum posts

expand your shopping horizons

7:56 p.m. on May 3, 2012 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
3,939 forum posts

In Boy Scouts we used to dry our own using screens made from bug screening and covered with cloth to keep out the flies and hung outside and allowed to dry.

Outdoor-screen-drier-for-food.jpg
Also another way is if you have a gas oven at home, use the big sheet pans like restuarants use for big cakes and place the food to be dried spread out on them and place them ina turned off oven. The simple pilot light in the bottom of the oven is enough heat to slowly dry the food. Leave the oven door open a crack to let out the moisture.

I used to make my own raisens from drying Grapes with this oven method, also dried meats. There are many recipes for making flavored dry meats on the internet.

If electric use the lowest settting on the oven. Just check every day to see how the dried food is doing.

11:19 p.m. on May 3, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
908 forum posts

Just remembered Alton Brown had several episodes with dehydration.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5912487412723519389