Newbie here...Need ideas for camp meals

4:43 p.m. on February 21, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
82 forum posts

Hi, I am Don, and a first-time-poster here. I have been trolling it for a while, picking up ideas/reviews on tents, packs and the such. As a result of your guidance, I have assembled my gear and I am almost ready for my first backpacking trip...except for one part...what am I supposed to do for food?

I have my stove, a coleman backpacking stove, but have held off buying pots/pans/things to actually cook in, until I get an idea of what I will be cooking.

So, I was hoping that you would be gracious enough to help me out with ideas for recipes, your favorite camp foods, or any other tips, tricks, or words of wisdom that could be passed down to me.

Thank you in advance for the help!

10:39 p.m. on February 21, 2011 (EST)
87 reviewer rep
1,067 forum posts

Hi Don- Welcome to trailspace!

Glad you have been looking at reviews for your gear and basically getting advice on your new passion..For cooking generally most backpackers or backcountry packers cook one pot meals..This is a site that will help you get a general idea of recipes and how to plan a meal.. www.Trailcooking.com

Also if you go to youtube you will find many way's to save on weight for your food as well.I have 2 cookbooks on backpacking food. But I make my own one pot meals and buy a few from retailers at times.You really could do alot more if pack weight weren;t the issue. But thats a factor with backpackers. Also look thru some of the threads on this section in the forum. I hope I gave you a place to start Don. My advice is look at the recipes and see what type of pots needed then research and come and ask questions.

4:38 a.m. on February 22, 2011 (EST)
3 reviewer rep
101 forum posts

I don't like to spend a lot of time cooking and since I'm not very fond of the freeze dried meals (although I think the Mountain House pasta dishes are OK), I package up my own meals in ziplock freezer bags.