So much fuel!

5:58 p.m. on March 22, 2011 (EDT)
5 reviewer rep
14 forum posts

So I'm pretty new at all this, and in my search for a stove I've found so many different types of fuel it's left me utterly confused. Here's what I've seen:

white gas, kerosene, unleaded auto fuel, alcohol, butane, isopropane

and then on top of that, some fuel canisters sit directly beneath the stove, while some have a line coming from the stove attaching the canister on the side. There's so much out there! I just want a light, reliable stove to heat water. Preferably with a fuel that will last me and not burn too quickly.

6:26 p.m. on March 22, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
153 forum posts

If you don't plan on using it when it's near or below freezing or in windy conditions then butane is the way to go.  It's quicker to set up, easier to use and more compact. 

If you are going to use it in colder weather or above the treeline or other windy places a liquid fuel stove like the MSR whisperlite is the way to go. 

If you're car camping, propane is just as easy to use as butane but also works in cold weather.  Propane stoves and fuel bottles are too heavy if you're going to backpack. 

12:31 a.m. on March 23, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
223 forum posts

Hi allielibs, to simplify matters, I suggest a canister stove; one in particular, the Coleman exponent powered by Powermax canisters. These come in three flavors: (1)the Xpert: 4 legs, 12,000 Btu's (2) Xtreme: 3 legs, 14,000 Btu's (3) Xpedition: 2 burners 10,000 Btu's each. The positives for this family of stoves are: (1) unlike typical canisters, Powermax canisters are aluminum and easily recyclable (2) Powermax canisters aren't hampered by the cold weather constraints that WISam mentions because they use an ingenious liquid fuel feed system. If you're interested in the science behind this method, I can post links that explain the behavior of gases...