Campus Training for Rock Climbing

1:29 p.m. on January 30, 2013 (EST)
BRAND REP
12 reviewer rep
32 forum posts

This is a campus board training routine I have been performing and have been adding onto for the last 6 months. It involves strength and endurance training on easy and difficult rungs. Using this routine has helped me to boulder my first v10 and hopefully harder problems in the future. This is only my perspective of training for rock climbing and may not be suitable for others' training standards or needs. ALL CAUTION SHOULD BE TAKEN BEFORE PERFORMING CAMPUS RUNG EXERCISES AS IT COULD BE DANGEROUS AND CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY! 

10:29 p.m. on February 1, 2013 (EST)
1,357 reviewer rep
1,339 forum posts

I don't get it. You're showing yourself using the racks the way they are meant to be used, to build strength. No special moves or techniques. Every other climber at that gym uses them the same way - what's different here? 

While I can appreciate the amount of strength required, it strikes me as kind of like posting a video showing how many chinups you can do.  

5:29 a.m. on February 2, 2013 (EST)
BRAND REP
12 reviewer rep
32 forum posts

Fair enough for you to assume this but I have helped and encouraged many climbers at my gym to use them. Most don't use them and don't understand the benefits you can receive by using them. I didnt start out able to do all of these i had to work up to it. I guess it's also for motivation, I want to pass on something I used that made me strong and improved my climbing ability. If I was doing it to show off I would've took myshirt off and zoomed in on my abs or something

1:53 a.m. on March 10, 2013 (EST)
219 reviewer rep
6 forum posts