Beginner Mountaineering

10:56 a.m. on May 29, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

I am relatively new to mountaineering but am planning a day trip up to the high-lands to practice up on some skills, i.e. ice-axe self arrest, chopping stepps, low risk climbing and snow/ice field crossings. I have never had any technical training but I see no problem in self-teaching these basics as long as I keep it low risk. Does anyone have any advice or specific warnings other than the obvious. I am a 3 1/2 season backpacker/hiker in Salt Lake and have climbed most of the Wasatch range. Thanks.

12:18 p.m. on May 29, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

Practice a lot. Read some good text like Basic Mountaineering (Moynier I think) or Freedom of the hills.

Practice especially head down on your stomach and head down on your back. Pick a slope with a nice run out. Learn whether you're comfortable with a leash or not on the axe.

Have fun,

Richard

Quote:

I am relatively new to mountaineering but am planning a day trip up to the high-lands to practice up on some skills, i.e. ice-axe self arrest, chopping stepps, low risk climbing and snow/ice field crossings. I have never had any technical training but I see no problem in self-teaching these basics as long as I keep it low risk. Does anyone have any advice or specific warnings other than the obvious. I am a 3 1/2 season backpacker/hiker in Salt Lake and have climbed most of the Wasatch range. Thanks.

11:55 a.m. on May 30, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

When practising self arrest, make sure you
- remove your crampons
- always keep control of you axe
- do it on a slope that doesn't end with a 1000' drop off !

I would consider trying to find a more experienced friend or even join a course or hire a guide for a day or two to properly learn the basics. It may not sound complicated but IMHO the only way to avoid learning bad habits and getting a false sense of "knowing how to do things" is to learn by yourself.

F

Quote:

3:18 a.m. on June 9, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)