Boot Help

8:28 a.m. on December 28, 2006 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I'm fairly new to serious mountaineering and am looking to get some advice on boots.

Next year I'm climbing Kilimanjaro (which is, I've been told, to all intense purposes a long hike), I'm also looking to get into some Scottish winter climbing. Whilst I'm not planning on doing anything too technical, I want crampon compatibility, something that will keep my foot warm and something that can take a beating. I had my eye on the La Sportiva Makalu or Glacier, however a recent 'expert' told me to ditch that and go with a Trango S EVO GTX. I'm not too sure how good his advice is.

To be honest, I could do with some sound advice here. Any info would be appreciated. Cheers. Ed

10:13 p.m. on December 31, 2006 (EST)
38 reviewer rep
1,757 forum posts

Ed, I don't profess to be an expert on climbing boots, but, here is what I would consider-there are basically two kinds of climbing boots-leather and plastic-all boots are one or the other, or in a few cases, a combination of the two. I am not including lightweight boots made of synthetic materials that look like macho running shoes.

Before plastic boots came along, all mountaineering boots were leather. Plastic boots are a variation of the plastic ski boot-stiff, warm, pretty much indestructible. There are single and double boots-doubles have a removable liner-singles are more like a ski boot. Plastic boots are not all that comfortable for long walks-I've worn the old Koflach Viva Soft for hours on glaciers and wound up with bad shin bang (bruising)that made walking very painful.

From what I have seen on tv (no personal experience), Kilimanjaro is cold, but not like high altitude mountaineering. For that, a sturdy leather boot seemed to be what the people I saw on tv were wearing.

For Scotland, where the weather is colder, especially in winter, a plastic boot would most likely be recommended.