What are other people paid to teach rappelling?

7:32 p.m. on June 21, 2007 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

I've been teaching rappelling for about 10 years. I work with Girl Scouts, at a residential treatment center for teens in trouble, with other school groups, and also with a few adult groups.

I'm wondering what other people get paid to do this. I don't own the equipment or provide the insurance, but I maintain all of the gear and logs, get myself retrained ocassionally, recruit and train my belayers, and make almost all of the plans for how each group can get the most out of their lessons.

I usually charge $100 to $150 a day. I suspect that is low, but I live in an economically slow area and work is sporadic. I'm just wondering so I can let the people that pay me know what a deal they are getting, and also to help me think if I should charge more.

I've tried searching the web for this info, but my job title seems to be below the radar. Any input is really appreciated.

9:06 p.m. on June 21, 2007 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,296 forum posts

Pam -
Most of us who work with youth groups do so for free as far as time goes. When we use our own gear, most of us figure out a lifetime of the gear (using the UIAA/CE dictated values plus estimates of how many kids rappelling down the line will put significant wear on the rope) and do some hand-waving math to come up with a rough value. It's on a per-kid basis, but figuring about 10 minutes per kid (basic instruction, harnessing them up, sending them down, undoing them) and 5 hours of working the stations is 30 kids per day per station. I mostly work with Boy Scouts (I'm Council Climbing Director for 2 Scout Councils, and so I have the Councils buy the gear, both for the "in-town" programs and the summer camp programs.