Making a bag for carrying a Brompton folding bike - what material?

2:08 p.m. on January 6, 2014 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Hello, like the subject says, I want to make a bag for carrying a folding bike around that weighs around 13 kg. It does not need to be waterproof, but only needs to cover the bike and have some straps for easy carrying. And it should be as lightweight as possible. I am planning to let the straps go all the way around the bag so that they take most of the weight.

What material would you recommend for the bag itself and for the straps?

Oh, and that will be my first time sewing my own gear (I have some sewing experience with houshold stuff), so I will probably need everything spelled out clearly

Any help will be very welcome.

2:34 a.m. on January 8, 2014 (EST)
38 reviewer rep
1,757 forum posts

Not the lightest, but I would use Cordura or similar fabric. Cordura is about as close to wear resistant as you can get without getting an exotic fabric that costs a fortune. I have a small daypack made out of Cordura or a Cordura knockoff (more likely) that I have carried almost daily for about 25 years and it shows very little wear.

The only drawback I would see for you is having a home machine that is strong enough to sew it.

4:30 a.m. on January 8, 2014 (EST)
102 reviewer rep
2,276 forum posts

I used to make some of my gear, but found the experience time consuming and frustrating, as my machine lacked the power to accomplish the job.  The fabric weights and seams required to make your carry bag are beyond the capacity of most home sewing machines.  Experiment with a small sample of the materials and stitchery to confirm you have both the equipment and skills to assemble this project.  You can always hand sew, too, this project isn't that much seam work.