Breaking In New Boots!

7:42 p.m. on July 15, 2011 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
658 reviewer rep
2,149 forum posts

Well, I finally bit the bullet and laid out some serious cash for some serious boots. I've been using a pair of Timberlands for many years, and they just aren't cutting it anymore, especially after busting a seam.

So I just got a new pair of Alico Tahoe boots. They are full grain leather, with a softer leather for the scree collar and tongue flaps.

I need to break these in very well over the next month and a half before doing the Teton Crest Trail. I plan to use the tried and true method of pre-soaking the insides right before hiking in them to break them in initially.

My questions are these:

Are there other methods to break them in that are more effective?

Is there any reason not to use the presoak method?

Should I use a leather treatment (Obenhauf's HD LP) before I subject them to break in exercises?

Thanks, I really appreciate the advice!

7:57 p.m. on July 15, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

I don't necessarily have much input on the soaking of the boot etc., but I used the Obenhauf's on my Scarpas as soon as I got them and I feel it definitely softened them up. I applied it on day one and I love this stuff. Then again from previous threads I am sure you know this already.

obenhauf-s.jpg

It did darken the leather but not to the point that it was a big deal. I actually think they look better. I think Trouthunter uses it on his Summits so he may be able to give ya a better heads up on how it does on the Alicos.

I am sold on Obenhauf's for FGL boots.

By the way, nice boots man. If I didn't score the deal I did on the SL's I would have went after either the Tahoes or the Summits.

9:36 p.m. on July 15, 2011 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
658 reviewer rep
2,149 forum posts

Thank Rick, I haven't picked any of the Obenhauf's up yet, but I have already located a nearby store to buy some :)