looking for the perfect tent (aren't we all - lol)

9:31 a.m. on November 23, 2011 (EST)
63 reviewer rep
123 forum posts

apparentely i am one of the ultimate goof balls.  i've been flipping tents for a couple of years, trying to find one that is perfect.  may as well ask for more help. 

i do 90% of my camping sept -may

i am always alone in my tent, but do like to store my gear inside

do not like to be cold (duh)

live in the great plains

i had a mh hammerhead - too heavy

i had a marmot limelight - gave it to my 15 year old

have a bibler ahwahnee - hate the internal poles, but otherwise really like this

tents that set up like hilleberg - snugpak sound like they may be good, but no one locally sells anything similar, and i don't completely understand the concept. of attaching the mesh to the fly. 

whatcha got for me???

10:31 a.m. on November 23, 2011 (EST)
344 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts

I have been going though tents too. But I try to look for ones that fit my needs. Right now I have 3 backpacking tents that I use most.  The things I look for most is interior space. I love to beable to stretch out. I like large vestibules and two doors.

In the spring and fall TNF Canyonlands is my go to. Though it has only one door it is a very roomy for a one person tent. The fly can be opened useing two treking poles. In the summer a Coleman Peak 1 Cobra. Two doors and two very large vestibules. Both can be held open using a pole. Making it look like a bird in flight. An interesting note on those two is they are both single pole hoops. In the winter here it is all about rain. Both of the above mentioned tents would (and have) failed. So I picked up a Seirra West. A two pole tunnel. As of this time it realy hasnt been truly tested. I was going out two days ago becouse a storm was moving in. But the wind gust have been over 80 mph. glad I didnt.