Pvc Pole frames

3:28 p.m. on March 2, 2012 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Im looking at a campany called CEC for one of their large basecamp tents. The thing is that they use pvc poles for most of their frames. I have no knowledge of their strength and durability in that application- especially in high wind enviroments like back home in Colorado. Have any of you out there had a tent with pvc poles before, this brand or others, and what was your take on it?

4:01 p.m. on March 2, 2012 (EST)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,424 reviewer rep
1,291 forum posts

i'm not familiar with the company or how the pools look or work, so that is  a big caveat.  another big "if" is that "PVC" might describe a very wide range of physical properties, so it's very hard to tell what properties those tent poles have.

But, if we're talking about PVC poles that are similar to PVC pipe material, i would have concerns.  PVC has a little ability to flex, but not much.  PVC pipe is pretty rigid.  when PVC piping is flexed beyond where it is meant to go, it can shatter because it is so rigid.   

i would think aluminum, fiberglas, and carbon poles all have a better ability to flex and rebound in windy situations and would at the same time be much more resistant to overflexing and shattering than PVC, though i would have worries about some carbon poles i have seen, too - there are a lot of ways to make carbon poles.   i would think this issue becomes a greater concern for larger tents - more surface area to absorb the wind, so more force being exerted on the poles.

that's my two cents. 

4:52 p.m. on March 2, 2012 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
1,237 forum posts