Backpack choice

12:35 a.m. on April 2, 2012 (EDT)
4 reviewer rep
9 forum posts

I've been backpacking with BSA for a couple of years now. I've only done weekend trips but would like to start doing some longer stuff over the summer. I was using my dad's old external frame High Sierra pack, but it was heavy and recently broke. I need a new pack and am trying to decide what would be best for my needs. I think I have it narrowed down to either the Osprey Aether 60 or the Osprey Kestrel 58. I just want to get some input on the two packs.

12:45 a.m. on April 2, 2012 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Hey acwatts1995, welcome to the party.

Have you tried either of these packs on? If not the best choice may very well be neither. If they don't fit you properly neither are going to be the pack you want.

Osprey's fit me(I own a few) but Gregory's don't. Then there are those that fit Gregory's but the Osprey's are a no fly zone.

This is typically due to the design of the pack varies from manufacturer to manufacturer. Not too mention not everyone's body is shaped the same.

Best option?

Go to a shop and get fitted(torso length, harness, etc.) Also make sure ya try the pack on with weight in it(Outfitters typically have sandbags for this purpose.)

Another mention is take the gear with you that you will be working with while on trail(in stuff sacks) and make sure it fits the pack volume wise. It would be a shame for ya to get a pack ya like only to have to exchange it for the next size up volume wise because when ya get home your kit won't fit.

I had an Aether 70. Nice pack but I upgraded to an Argon 85 because my week long winter kit was a little on the large side for the 70 so the Aether was handed down.

11:13 p.m. on April 2, 2012 (EDT)
4 reviewer rep
9 forum posts

I've tried on the kestrel, but not the Aether, when I get a chance I'm gonna go back up and try it. Thanks for the advice, I'll try to keep that in mind.

3:33 a.m. on April 3, 2012 (EDT)