Mount Rainier - September climb boot selection help needed

4:46 p.m. on July 31, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I'm new to mountaineering and my first real climb will be Mount Rainier in mid September.  We will be climbing via a guide company up through Camp Muir and Disappointment Cleaver up to the summit over 3 days. I need help deciding on which specific boot I should go with.

I was planning on going with the rental boots, Scarpa Inverno, and sticking my owner Superfeet insert in but was tempted to pull the trigger on a deal I saw for a lesser known boot instead, the AKU Spider Kevler GTX (Gore-tex Insulated Comfort & Primaloft insulation). I've read these are rated to 6000m, roughly -15 degrees F and are much cheaper than something like the La Sportiva Nepals. They aren't double plastic boots like the Scarpa Inverno and I know for a multiple day climb I would have to worry about drying the AKU Spider boots out after each day since the liner is not removable. The benefits are that the boots will be about 1.5lbs lighter in total and from the reviews I've read should be more comfortable on the approach but I would just be worried over the course of the 3 days having moisture build up inside the boot causing problems on day 2 or 3. My feet are usually on the colder side when I'm out in the elements walking/skiing and usually sweat a decent amount but I'm planning on bringing multiple sock liners and Smartwool socks to change throughout the trip.

I was just curious if others had input on their boot selection for Rainier in mid September and if an insulated single "leather" boot such as the AKU Spider Kevlar GTX would be an acceptable choice over the Scarpa Inverno for a first time climber? Thanks in advance!

1:19 p.m. on August 2, 2013 (EDT)
21 reviewer rep
1,283 forum posts

Matt,

Talk with experienced climbers like The Moutaineers for advice. Rental boots sound like the best solution.