how is a backpack supposed to fit over the shoulder?

3:55 p.m. on August 17, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Hi, I recently bought a backpack that feels comfortable otherwise, but there is a slight gap between the shoulder and the straps that I'm not sure if it's supposed to be there., almost like this:

big_8a1c65e5-2950-45d6-9bd4-260511d7f36b

Is this how it's supposed to be or did I buy a backpack that doesn't fit me? I've no previous experiences with backpacks and wold appreciate a little help! I'm sorry if this is a bit unclear!

Thanks!

12:23 a.m. on August 18, 2017 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER
1,471 reviewer rep
197 forum posts

Not enough information to answer. It could be that the pack doesn't fit you well, or that it's the wrong torso size, or it's made poorly, or you're trying it on empty rather than loaded with your gear, or that you haven't adjusted all the straps properly, or you are wearing the hip belt too high...etc.

6:53 a.m. on August 18, 2017 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Thank you, JRinGeorgia! I was indeed trying it on empty more or less (just a jacket and a blanket stuffed in). I just packed it with almost everything I want to take and it fits well on the shoulder now. 

10:43 a.m. on August 18, 2017 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,963 reviewer rep
1,998 forum posts

YN,

Different packs fit differently also, there is no real standard. Some packs are designed to intentionally lift the straps off the top and back of the shoulder while some are in fact designed to wrap and have more contact.

For example the Kifaru hunting and tactical packs are designed to lift (this is a proper fit according to their fit guide):

20121115-082541.jpg

The Mystery Ranch packs have a shoulder yoke system intended to wrap the shoulder:

Here is an old photo of me wearing the MR Trance and this is also a proper fit:

TRIP%20127%20121-X2.jpg

10:21 a.m. on August 19, 2017 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,590 reviewer rep
1,557 forum posts