Hubbed tent poles, or poles that go nowhere.

8:11 p.m. on October 7, 2010 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,504 forum posts

Hey all,

I would like your opinions, or experiences with hubbed tent poles, or the poles that just stick out to support a rain fly or to create more area inside a tent.

I have no experience with these designs, but it seems like a weaker design (?), or am I just wrong?

I understand the weight & space advantages of this type system, I am just curious about the durability.

Thanks.

11:32 p.m. on October 7, 2010 (EDT)
210 reviewer rep
4,288 forum posts

My North Face Mtn 25 has poles that attach to holdup the vestibule on my tent. And a couple to hold the upper center area up for the vents. Is that what you are referring to? Not sure what a "hubbed" pole is?

7:43 a.m. on October 8, 2010 (EDT)
344 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts

It seems that these little stuby poles are all the rage. They dont add to the strength of the tent. They simply hold a wall or rainfly out. And the point (end) of the pole rubbing on the rainfly is a bad idea.

4:44 p.m. on October 8, 2010 (EDT)
38 reviewer rep
1,757 forum posts

For some reason, these designs are proliferating. My old EMS Pampero (kind of looks like a Trango Assault) has five poles-4 main poles that cross in sort of an overlapping double "X" and one vestibule pole that makes a hoop for the vestibule that you stake out. No little pieces. My tent floor is a rectangle shape. There may be pics of it here somewhere.

I don't like these odd designs. Too old school I guess, but I'm not keen on a tent that looks like an Art Center design project. Even Henry Shires (Tarptent) has gotten into this-his winter tent has two small poles that hold up the back corners of one of his designs.

To me, the hub design is just another piece to get lost or break.

6:48 p.m. on October 8, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
223 forum posts