Tent Choice

1:53 p.m. on December 27, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

In the past three years, I have camped at least once a month rain or shine for a weekend in the Texas/Oklahoma area. My current tent (Ozark Trail JW-8800) is on its last leg and I have been researching a replacement tent nearly non-stop for the past two months.

Some criteria for my replacement tent: must be waterproof, must NOT fold on top of me in the wind, must be somewhat warm in the winter(+ 15 to +20 degrees), and be cool in the summer(+115 degrees). I know this is a wide range in temperature, but this is typical for my region.

Some of the products on my short list include the Big Agnes Emerald Mountain SL3, and the MSR Mutha Hubba. The Mutha Hubba appears, from all of the pictures, to be more stable in the wind i.e. the three-pole setup. I’m not limited to these, however they did make my short list. Price isn’t too much of a factor, however I would like to keep it under $500.00.

Any guidance on this dilemma would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time, Al.

2:22 p.m. on December 27, 2010 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
1,195 reviewer rep
1,071 forum posts

Al, you just named two very capable tents which, in my opinion, should match the conditions you describe perfectly. I'd say you've been doing quite well with your research; I would only suggest you look into the offerings from the cottage manufacturers as well. Specifically, Henry Shires makes a tent called the Scarp 2 which I think might be worth looking at. his website is: Tarptent.com

Also, pyramid style tents are worth considering, in my opinion. Golite makes a model called the Shangri-La 3 which can be had with an optional inner net tent. Very roomy for the weight...

4:33 p.m. on December 27, 2010 (EST)
344 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts