Tent Comparison

8:49 a.m. on May 14, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

Hey guys I was hoping I could tap into this well of knowledge some more and get some advice on two tents I've been comparing!

I was at MEC yesterday looking at the MSR Hubba Hubba 2 person, which they had set up so we got to check it out. While a cozy two person, it wasn't too small, and had lots of head space and was quite light. This is it:

MSR Hubba Hubba

Later online however I found another tent that seemed almost exactly the same in many regards but $150 cheaper.

MEC Camper 2

The Camper 2 is slightly heavier but not significantly so, and it's also bigger, and the Hubba Hubba is nylon while the Camper is polyester. Is this enough to merit a $150 price difference? It seems to me like the Camper 2 is at great value, but as I am new to this I am still learning how to recognize cheap from great value. What do you guys think?

10:12 a.m. on May 14, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

You could throw this in the mix and save some dough.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000MAOEB4/ref=redir_mdp_mobile/186-4266237-3871648

$98 out the door/free ship. Normally $170.

4:05 p.m. on May 14, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,236 forum posts