Camera suggestions for hiking

1:53 p.m. on July 17, 2011 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
962 reviewer rep
1,332 forum posts

Trailspacers,

I’m looking for suggestions on a ruggedized digital camera for point and shoot use while hiking (mostly for trip reports / web sharing purposes). I’ve read some reviews and it seems like the consensus choices are: Pentax Optio WG-1, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT3, and Olympus TG-310.

I hike mostly in rain forests (non-tropical) but don’t need to actually take under water photos. I was hoping to spend less than $300 but may be willing to break that ceiling if the rationale is compelling enough.

Like with any consumer electronics, the reviews are frustrating to digest as every model out there seems to have equal amounts of good and bad reviews.

I have no photographic knowledge or skills (not a even a hobbyist really) and therefore no bias whatsoever so I’m open to any suggestions.

Thanks in advance for any replies!

2:50 p.m. on July 17, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

I have been looking at the Fuji XP 30. Waterproof and it has a GPS feature. The link here gets into it a bit more. I like this little cam alot. I have a friend that owns one and he love it. After playing with it a bit I can see why.

http://www.dpreview.com/news/1101/11010511fujifilmxp30.asp

Definitely in your price range at $200(I've seen it cheaper.)

Its shockproof to 1.5 meters, waterproof to 5 meters, and has a lanyard attachment point. I want the orange one. :)

4:35 p.m. on July 17, 2011 (EDT)
225 reviewer rep
4,375 forum posts

Check out the GoPro cameras. www.gopro.com

They shoot video,stills and are built for wet weather and underwater shooting. And range in price from $179 to $299 And they have 16 and 32 GB memory cards. Waterproof to 180 ft/60 meters

No, I do not have one but it will be my next adventure travel camera!

productpage_large.jpg

10:44 p.m. on July 18, 2011 (EDT)
2,702 reviewer rep
1,348 forum posts