Alaska Inside Passage Paddle

9:30 p.m. on March 5, 2014 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

I'm a newbie. I plan to paddle the Inside Passage in the summer 2015. Any advice and or comments are appreciated. Deciding on kayak or canoe, leaning toward canoe. I have more than a year to practice and prepare. Maybe paddle alone or maybe with others.

10:56 a.m. on March 6, 2014 (EST)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
723 reviewer rep
915 forum posts

Hi Arnold, welcome to Trailspace. The first question I'll ask is how much paddling have you done? The second is what is your experience with the Inside Passage and if you intend to paddle the entire length or just a section?

As far as a choice of alone or with others, you are running a great risk if you are alone. The risks are great enough with a companion.

I would recommend a sea kayak, expedition size for gear. You will need to have your roll down well enough that you can do it without a paddle(hand roll), and when you are fatigued.

You will have to have a great knowledge of the route and expected conditions. Tidal flows in the Inside Passage can top 12 knots. You can't paddle that fast. It can be quite rough, with high winds. Beaches are infrequent so you will need to know how to launch off rocky shores.

I would suggest a couple of easier trips, such as the Broken Group to test your skills.

I can advise on boat models. Again, a sea kayak would be my choice and I am primarily an open boat guy with 8 canoes and one Ik in my garage.

11:34 a.m. on March 6, 2014 (EST)
21 reviewer rep
1,210 forum posts

Arnold,

Heed Erich's words. I have been up the Passage 3 times, twice on the Alaska Ferry and once on a cruise ship. Even 850 foot ships get tossed around making the crossing at Dixon Entrance.