About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

The Best Jacket Ever

9:53 p.m. on March 16, 2011 (EDT)
3 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I bought the Lowe Alpine Legend Jacket (women's), in bright bright blue, when I was a college student in Ohio.  I bought it when I was a sophomore or junior from an online website.  Now, eight years later (it could even be more), I still have the jacket.  I have worn it almost every day for the past eight years.  Because it is excellent.  I wear it running (I am a runner). I wear it to bed (because I am always cold).  I wear it all weekend.  I wear it out to restaurants.  I wear it before trial.  I can't stop wearing it. 

I look homeless, now, though, wearing it.  I don't really care. The front zipper is broken so sometimes the zip comes undone from the bottom.  It will end up in such a configuration that it appears to be attached only at mid-chest.  The sleeves are frayed.  There are holes near the cuff attachments.  I can put my hand through the holes.  It's matted down and faded, full of pils.  It's strained in all the right places.  It looks like a dead, polyester animal.

Guess what? People keep challenging me to throw it in the garbage.  When my family sees me wearing it, they shrink back in disgust.  My sister refuses to let me wear it out with her, because, no matter what I look like otherwise, I still look like a bum in this excellent fleece.  It's an embarrassment for everyone but me.