About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

week long backpacking trip in early March

11:25 a.m. on December 26, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

Im a college student and me and  4 or 5 guys want to take a backpacking trip to some part of the appalachian trail for our spring break. Ive done some backpacking out west during the summers. But really dont know where to go on the Trail and how to figure out the best spots for weather at that time of the year. We were ideally looking at tennessee or North Carolina or anywhere further south. Any ideas or suggestions?

thanks.

12:00 p.m. on December 26, 2011 (EST)
72 reviewer rep
1,047 forum posts

Welcome to trail space tyler and happy holiday's. Well honest with your experiance and haveing 4 or 5 other guy's along. I would suggest the smokey's are just begin the Appalachian trail from springer. I suggest this because you haven't defined what type of experiance your friends have and you will want some bailout points if someting goes wrong. FWIW I would suggest the smokeys because they are well established and you will meet quit a few other hikers.  If you need to get supplies  you can resupply easily.

7:05 p.m. on December 26, 2011 (EST)
MODERATOR TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
884 reviewer rep
3,432 forum posts

Welcome to Trailspace Tyler.

I will second the suggestion to visit Great Smokey Mountains National Park.

Here is their website:

http://www.nps.gov/grsm/index.htm

If you go to the website you will find it filled with info on weather, plant & animal diversity, trails, etc.

They have free PDF trail maps (downloadable in quadrants), road maps, a region map, and a free APP for IPhones.

One thing to note is that hiking dogs are not allowed on the trails, and that you need to be 'Bear Aware' especially with regards to food handling & storage since there are between 1500 to 1800 bears in the park.