San Jacinto and/or San Gorgonio Hikes

4:27 p.m. on May 16, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

I'm new to backpacking and I'm itching to make a trip.  Unfortunately, my wife doesn't share my "roughing it" attitude.  I've got some friends that I'm working with to hike in the Whitney area later this year but most are in Northern California. 

Looking for a hiking partner so my wife doesn't go crazy worrying about me hiking alone...and quite frankly I don't want to hike  alone either. 

I've got two hikes that I want to make before we head up to the Whitney area.  San Jacinto from Idyllwild to the tram and a hike up to San Gorgonio.  Would like to knock these two out prior to August when my group plans on heading to the Whitney area. 

Unfortunately, we lost out on the lottery this year so we'll be doing some other trails in that region that require permits outside of a lottery.

I'm also thinking my friends might flake out on me.   I'm getting that funny feeling. 

If you've got some knowledge to share in the backpacking world I'm all ears.  I'm not looking for a speed hiker either. 

I'm turning 48 this year and want to get in as many trips as I can before I can't go anymore...hopefully not for a very long time.  When my kids get a bit older they are going with me. 

12:05 p.m. on May 18, 2013 (EDT)
21 reviewer rep
1,162 forum posts

Seegerp,

Try the trails less traveled.  In So Cal, if it is popular, don't go there unless it is winter.  An example of a lesser traveled place would be Icehouse Cyn on Mt Baldy.  Don't tell anyone.

6:53 a.m. on May 19, 2013 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,295 forum posts

ppine said:

Seegerp,

Try the trails less traveled.  In So Cal, if it is popular, don't go there unless it is winter.  An example of a lesser traveled place would be Icehouse Cyn on Mt Baldy.  Don't tell anyone.