Spreadsheets?

12:26 a.m. on March 31, 2014 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER
690 reviewer rep
19 forum posts

In another forum on TS I saw a lot of posts with people referring to their spreadsheet of the gear that goes in their pack. I am kind of new to hiking/backpacking and would love to see some spreadsheets that others have. 

If some of you don't mind emailing me your spreadsheet, that would be awesome! I know some may be for different trip lengths and/or different weather condition, but I think it would help me compare and see some gear that seems to be essential and some gear that I could easily leave behind. I thought it might be a good way to learn from other people. Thanks! 

11:49 a.m. on March 31, 2014 (EDT)
331 reviewer rep
287 forum posts

Hi Ben.  I don't really have a "spreadsheet" but I do make a list for every trip.  I try and make the list about 2 weeks before any trip so I can modify it as needed and that also gives me 2 weeks to think about anything I may be leaving off the list.  I will PM you an example of one of my latest lists.  

4:45 p.m. on March 31, 2014 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
1,159 reviewer rep
105 forum posts

I have a gearlist that changes from time to time depending on what I choose to bring on a trip.

I also have a separate sheet for my menu/food items also...this changes too depending on days on the trail.

I find them very helpful so keep my brain organized and allows me to not forget anything.

Here's a link to mine: http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=7137

Not the lightest but it works. The Big 3 items are what usually changes depending who comes along, what weather, etc. However, on fair weather conditions, this is typically my gear list.

4:53 p.m. on March 31, 2014 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts