florida trails

9:05 a.m. on November 9, 2009 (EST)
12 reviewer rep
9 forum posts

Anyone that has hiked or is thinking of hiking in Florida please reply.

10:54 a.m. on November 9, 2009 (EST)
14 reviewer rep
204 forum posts

there isn't a whole lot down here. There are a few trails in the Everglades, but there's no scenery. You can also backpack along the canals - but again, no scenery/shade/protection from our popcorn-thunderstorms.

Friends tell me there is some up in the panhandle, but I have never gone up that way yet.

11:20 a.m. on November 9, 2009 (EST)
TRAILSPACE STAFF
715 reviewer rep
3,166 forum posts
Florida National Scenic Trail

I have no personal experience with it, but there is a 1,400-mile Florida National Scenic Trail. The Florida Trail Association has local chapters and maps and guidebooks.

http://www.floridatrail.org/

4:13 p.m. on November 9, 2009 (EST)
2 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

Has anyone hiked in Ocala National Forest? I am trying to plan a trip for Feb 2010 and I've never hiked in Florida. I'm open to suggestions.

10:49 a.m. on November 10, 2009 (EST)
12 reviewer rep
9 forum posts
Re: Florida National Scenic Trail

Thanks for the write-back. I've looked at the sight you're talking about,but it was too "hearing it from someone who sounds like a park ranger-ish and doesnt look at it from eyes of "what is there-ish?", for me.

10:55 a.m. on November 10, 2009 (EST)
12 reviewer rep
9 forum posts

Thanks for replying. No one has brought up the alligator population now, or any down sizes to hiking the everglades, mistakes people have learned from, etc./. I hope you do the pan handle thing and have a lot of fun.

11:19 a.m. on November 10, 2009 (EST)
TRAILSPACE STAFF
715 reviewer rep
3,166 forum posts

You might try clicking through to the website of some of the local hiking chapters, depending on what areas you're interested in. Seeing the local/less-official info and getting in touch with those local hikers may open up a lot of info.