Backpacking & flyfishing the Weminuche Wilderness

1:14 p.m. on July 7, 2010 (EDT)
3 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

I am going to be backpacking in the Weminuche Wilderness in Colorado in the Ute Lakes area. With all of the lakes and streams in the area, I decided to pack my 5 weight, 5 piece fly rod along. I want to minimize the amount of gear that I'm carrying so I was thinking of taking nippers, forceps, some 4x or 5x leaders and tippets, one of those sinking leaders that attachesbetween the floating line and the leader and an assortment of flies.

Can someone recommend some flies or any other gear that I might want to bring? I'm thinking of some basic flies so far...grasshopers, ants, Adams, Wulf, mosquito, scuds, pheasant tail, hair's eare, prince nymph, and perhaps a few wooley buggers and muddlers.

As this is my first time that I will be fly fishing while backpacking, any advice will help.

3:16 p.m. on July 7, 2010 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
983 reviewer rep
3,475 forum posts

Welcome RickMan,

I have been fishing on backpacking trips for many years carrying basically what you describe in terms of gear. Most people carry way to much fishing stuff that they will likely not need.

As far as which flies to take, that is not up to you or me, that is up to the fish!

You will have to find out what the fish are eating in the area you will be backpacking in, and that varies widely from one month to the next, with some flies like terrestrials being good all year in certain locations.