What is the best plan for a four day hike?

12:50 p.m. on July 27, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

Simply put: What is the best plan for a four day hike?

Most likely in New England during fall.

I am looking for a decent trail hike in New Hampshire, Vermont or upstate New York. Trying to make it a three to four day weekend with a few friends. Trying to stay away from the heavily traveled mountains like Washington, Monadnock, etc....
Anyone have a trip they liked?
BTW: I am not an expert but I love to hike so try to bear with me if I have questions.

2:16 p.m. on July 27, 2010 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
658 reviewer rep
2,148 forum posts

Welcome to Trailspace! I lived on the other side of the river from Old Saybrook in Old Lyme for four years, I really loved it up there.

A little clarification on your question might help us answer a little better- are you asking for the best trail(s) and route to take, or are you looking for info on how to do it, what you'll need, what to eat, etc?

5:18 p.m. on July 27, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
415 forum posts

I haven't been to New England in the fall but if it's anything like the Southeast, there's leaf-peeper mania to deal with, especially on the weekends. Great Smoky Mountains National Park gets its highest visitation during leaf season, for instance.

If you can work the scheduling, it might be worth the effort to do it mid-week.

7:57 p.m. on July 28, 2010 (EDT)
TRAILSPACE STAFF
501 reviewer rep
2,993 forum posts

Oh boy, there are SO many options in New Hampshire, Vermont, and the Adirondacks. I don't even know where to start.

What kind of distance do you want to cover? How strenuous? Are there certain types of trips you like better (lots of peaks to bag, waterfalls or lakes to see, etc...)? That might help us narrow it down for you a bit.