Video of my backpack trip on the Palmetto Trail

9:30 p.m. on April 14, 2012 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,475 forum posts

I recently spent 3 days on the Palmetto Trail which traverses my state of South Carolina. It is 2/3 complete with 290 miles open for hikers.

You can go to the Palmetto Trail's official site here.

I have a trip report here with photos and stuff.

I also shot some video of my time in camp the second day and third day. I uploaded part of the video last week in the trip report.

Well I finally got the rest of my video uploaded to YouTube and I decided to embed the 2 videos in a new thread separate from my trip report just to make things simpler.

I am a complete novice with video, and the editing leaves a bit to be desired as well as the audio; the second video turned out better. I would love to get any advise or feedback you guys have to offer so I can learn.

I am using a Sony HDR -CX160 that records in HD (AVCHD) or SD (MPEG4). The videos below were both shot in SD 16:9.

I have UV & PL filters on the camera, do I need the PL in the woods?

I would love to shoot in HD but I need a computer with a lot more processing power it seems. Quad core?

Any feedback would be appreciated as I would like to continue shooting video....but with better results.

Thanks.

5:56 p.m. on April 15, 2012 (EDT)
52 reviewer rep
312 forum posts

I'm not sure what your target audience would be but let's say it was someone who wanted to know something about the area and how to go about safe camping etc:

I think the audio was good, except for the changes in volume. For the second half of video 2, I had volume on full on my computer and still had to get closer to the speakers.